The curriculum offered by all systemic schools in the Diocese of Broken Bay is based on NESA (NSW Education Standards Authority) syllabuses.

Across NSW, Primary school is split into four stages.

Early stage 1 – Kindergarten

Stage 1 – Years 1 and 2

Stage 2 – Years 3 and 4

Stage 3 – Years 5 and 6

At St Thomas Catholic Primary school each stage has seven key learning areas:

  1. English
  2. Mathematics
  3. Science and Technology
  4. Human Society and Its Environment (HSIE) (History and Geography)
  5. Creative Arts
  6. Personal Development, Health and Physical Education (PDHPE)
  7. Religion

The NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA) develops syllabuses for the key learning areas (1 to 6). The Religion syllabus (7) is developed by Catholic Schools Broken Bay (CSBB).

New English and Mathematics Syllabus: Kindergarten to Year 2

The new English and Mathematics K–2 syllabuses will be taught at St Thomas Catholic Primary school from Term 1, 2023.

St Thomas will continue to teach existing English and Mathematics 3–6 syllabuses until the new syllabuses become available for preparation and planning in 2023 and are taught in all schools in 2024.

en English